ACM Transactions on Human-Robot Interaction
Special Issue on Artificial Intelligence for Human-Robot Interaction (AI-HRI)



Deadline extended: July 15, 2022


ACM Transactions on Human-Robot Interaction -
Call for Papers:
Special Issue on Artificial Intelligence for Human-Robot Interaction (AI-HRI)

The application of Artificial Intelligence to Human-Robot Interaction domains has proven to be a powerfully effective mechanism for achieving robust, interactive, and autonomous systems with applications ranging from personalized tutors to smart manufacturing collaborators to healthcare assistants and nearly everything in between. Developing such systems often involves innovations and integrations between many diverse technical areas, including but not limited to task and motion planning, learning from demonstration, dialogue synthesis, activity recognition and prediction, human behavior modeling, and shared control. For this special issue we are soliciting high quality, original articles that present the design and/or evaluation of novel computational techniques and systems at the intersection of artificial intelligence and human-robot interaction. We aim to bring together a wide variety of articles to showcase the state-of-the-art in AI-HRI within a single issue of the world's leading journal of Human-Robot Interaction research.

Topics include (but are not limited to)

Important Dates

Submission Process

ACM Transactions on Human-Robot Interaction is a peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary, open-access journal using an online submission and manuscript tracking system. Writing guidelines can be found at: https://dl.acm.org/journal/thri/author-guidelines. To submit your paper, please:
  1. Go to https://mc.manuscriptcentral.com/thri and login or follow the "Create an account" link to register.
  2. After logging in, click the "Author" tab.
  3. Follow the instructions to "Start New Submission"
  4. Choose the submission category "SI on Artificial Intelligence for Human-Robot Interaction (AI-HRI)"

Guest Editors

Jivko Sinapov

Tufts University

jivko.sinapov@tufts.edu

Matteo Leonetti

University of Leeds

m.leonetti@leeds.ac.uk

Katrin Lohan

Heriot-Watt University

k.lohan@hw.ac.uk

Zhao Han

Colorado School of Mines

zhaohan@mines.edu

Ross Mead

Semio

ross@semio.ai

Muneeb Ahmad

Swansea University

m.i.ahmad@swansea.ac.uk

Emmanuel Senft

University of Wisconsin-Madison

esenft@wisc.edu

Shelly Bagchi

National Institute of Standards and Technology

shelly.bagchi@nist.gov

Reuth Mirsky
The University of Texas at Austin
reuth@cs.utexas.edu

For questions and further information, please contact Jivko Sinapov at jivko.sinapov@tufts.edu or Zhao Han at zhaohan@mines.edu.